Upgrading Pulse Secure Client

The software image for each supported Pulse server includes a Pulse Secure client software package. When a newer version of Pulse is available, you can upload the new software to the Pulse server. You can have more than one version of Pulse on a Pulse server but only one Pulse client package can be active. If you activate a new version of Pulse, and if the Pulse server’s automatic upgrade option is enabled, connected Pulse clients display an upgrade prompt to the user. The user can choose to install the upgrade or cancel the operation. If a user cancels, the upgrade prompt appears each time the client connects to the server. During a client software upgrade the Pulse client loses connectivity temporarily.

Note: The automatic update feature is supported on Pulse Connect Secure and Pulse Policy Secure servers only. SRX gateways do not support automatic Pulse software updates.

Note: If you configure Pulse to make 802.1X based connections, a reboot might be required on Windows endpoints when Pulse is upgraded.

Figure 72: Pulse Client Upgrade Message

After you have staged the new Pulse software package in a location accessible to the Pulse server, use the following procedure to upload the software to the Pulse server:

  1. In the device admin console, select Users > Pulse Secure > Components.
  2. In the section labeled Manage Pulse Secure Client Versions, click Browse, and then select the software package.
  3. Click Upload.

Only one Pulse Secure client package can be active at a time. After you upload a new package, you need to enable it.

To enable a Pulse package as the default:

  1. In the admin console, select Users > Pulse Secure > Components.
  2. In the section labeled Manage Pulse Secure Client Versions, select the radio button next to a version, and then click Activate.

Related Documentation